A Revealing Party…and Now We Know

A couple months ago, I begged and pleaded with my friend Ashley to let me plan her a party to reveal the gender of her little bun (that would be a baby). It really took some convincing and just-short-of-constant IMs and emails to convince her and Jeremy, but I did it! I’ve given you a couple sneak peeks at party details (here and here) but the party pics are in and here are the full details.

The inspiration for the party decor was fully inspired (p)inspired by balloons (original pinspiration here) and here’s how they looked

Even though I knew it was a girl, I knew that I had to add blue in too…just in case. It was not easy to find the polka dot balloons without spending a small fortune (found the best price on Ebay BTW) but got them ordered and delivered and I was off on a brown/blue/pink/white/polka dot mission! It was a big misson

Drinks were pink lemonade and blue kool-aid

The invitation had polka dots

Images used to create the inviation are copyright of Stampin' UP! Created using My Digital Studio.

The cake(s) had polka dots

This was the pink one

This was the blue one

The cake boards were wrapped in some great white polka dot wrapping paper and surrounded by chocolate polka dots cupcakes

There were pink and blue tissue polka dots pom poms hanging from the curtain rods (tutorial here)

Everyone was asked to dress in pink or blue and then we had a “photo booth” where people had their picture taken. Of course the picture backdrop had polka dots. Here’s Ashley and Jeremy

…and the soon-to-be big brothers

We ate, we drank, we chatted, but we were all there to find out one thing in a fun way! Seriously…what is this bun. A little after 7:30 after waiting for someone to come to the party

After a phone call, Carly made it and it was time to cut the cake. It was a difficult process to figure out how to know how to do the reveal and finally it was decided. I made a card for Ashley and Jeremy to take to the ultrasound and it was sealed in a top secret envelope and it made the trip to their house buckled into a car seat and then it was tucked away in a closet where no one would open it. That night at the party, the photographer opened the envelope and then took away the wrong cake so only the right colored cake was waiting to be cut.

Seriously, I’ve never seen anyone soooo nervous to cut a cake. Kaden (the oldest brother) had to help her. See it?

Here’s a closer up picture

Yep. I was wrong. Oh well. Their reaction

Ashley’s grandma invited everyone back in two years to have another party…you know, for the girl

Suppose I can save the leftover decorations for that one? In case you were worried, the pink cake didn’t go to waste. It got eaten at work the next week

It was such a fun evening. There were things I had planned that I didn’t get to do, but the miracle of planning a party is that you’re the only one who knows what was left out. No one had any idea that I forgot the pink and blue ice pops for the kids or the paper for the kids to do bubble paintings for Baby Boy Bun. I’m so glad that I asked someone else to come and take the pictures. The photographer was my SIL Jenna and I thought she did fantastic. It was such a relief to not worry about the pictures and just worry about the logistics (drinks made, chips and salsa filled, etc) and Jeremy and Ashley were free to spend time with their guests.

Jeremy, Ashley, Kaden, Parker & Xander – Thank you for letting us share in this special time with you. Thank you for letting me plan this party for you and giving me something to focus on. I love your family and I feel so blessed to call you friends! Oh, and thanks for my new Scentsy warmer for the guest bedroom!!! Can’t wait to get it in there.



Categories: Everyone Loves a Party, Let's shop!, Living Frugal | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “A Revealing Party…and Now We Know

  1. Ashley

    Just reread this to reminisce. I can’t believe this was a year ago already! That bun is now a laughing, crawling, happy 7 and a half month old bouncing baby boy. Thanks again for this party Amy:) we’ll have the memories forever.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 133 other followers

