Challenge? I brought it!

Last Tuesday brought the Pinterest Challenge. In case you need a refresher, check out my post from last week about it. The basic gist is to find something you pinned on Pinterest actually do it. Novel idea isn’t it? I already showed you the soap pump project on Saturday, but alas I do have another project for the big reveal day. Are you ready?

I’m big about having all of the art in our house mean something to us so I’ve been looking for things for our house and it’s been slow going. It’s okay though, I’m a do it right, do it once kind of gal. In one of my marathon pinning sessions I found this

Image courtesy of Lolly Jane Boutique

Since Michael and I are from different places, I thought this would be great to hang in our house. Last Tuesday, I decided this was going to be my challenge project. Naturally though, in true Amy fashion, I changed it a little…besides changing the states (we’re not from Arizona and Louisana). Ya see, I loved this too

I contemplated having Beau and Bella walk through paint then walk on the canvas but don’t want to have my “children” taken away from me so I skipped it. I did like the idea of the bright colored canvas with a white image. See where I’m going yet?

I went to Michaels and picked up two 9×12 canvases (that’s the size to fit perfectly where I wanted them to go). I wanted to do one state per canvas rather than both states on one canvas.

Next I used the miracle of Google to print outlines of the state of Iowa and the state of Kentucky so each one was 8 inches wide which would allow a 2 inch border on the sides once the states were on the canvas. The easy way to do this would have been to paint the whole canvas and cut the state and attach it to the canvas. I wanted it to look like a piece of art so I went a little different way. I attached Kentucky and Iowa to contact paper so I could use them as a mask. I used my Dotto to temporarily attach the cutouts to the contact paper and then cut them out.

Then I realized that I put them on the contact paper wrong and I had to reattach and re-cut them.

Four states later, I peeled the backing off the contact paper and stuck the ones facing the right way to the canvases.

Then I grabbed a paint sample that I had leftover from another project – that one’s coming

The Sherwin-Williams samples don’t have a top coat so they are good for trying out a color but not for a final coat on a wall. When it came to my canvases I figured it would be okay though. Especially since I only needed a little bit and it was the color that would make things flow from one room to another a little better (check back tomorrow for how).

With my favorite little paint brush in hand and two whole states in front of me I started painting.

Once they were both completely painted I peeled off the contact paper before the paint dried fully

The contact paper didn’t form a perfect seal on the paint but I like how it has that handmade look to it. I added a couple command strips to the back and hung them on the wall and I love them!!!

They are hung on the wall so when someone walks in the front door, they are seen right away

A little bit of both of us in our home. What do you think? The possibilities for a project like this are endless. Monograms? Countries? Dates? What would you put on a canvas in your house?

Did you take part in the Pinterest challenge? I’d love to see your project so post it here! Don’t forget to check out John & Sherry, Katie, Emily & Lana with their projects too (and there are a ton of links for other people who took on the challenge)!




Categories: Projects | Tags: , , , | 19 Comments

Post navigation

19 thoughts on “Challenge? I brought it!

  1. Brittany

    These are too cute!! I have been wanting to do something like this as well but I’m still trying to figure out what I want to silhouette yet. (I mean, we’re both from the same place, so two pictures of FL seems a bit redundant… and boooring.)
    The idea with walking your kids through paint is a cute one too! Social services are preoccupied with people doing infinitely worse things to their kids (i.e. http://pinterest.com/pin/68722106/) so I would give it a shot with finger paints! They’ll probably love it! Plus their chubby little toes will be immortalized forever! Who can say no to that?

    • That’s hilarious! I’m afraid that our kids are actually cats (and we’re a little crazy) so I’m thinking they would not have fun with it :)

      I’ll be thinking of something you can do for a silhouette too. There’s gotta be something!

  2. So sweet! As easy as it is I’m still tempted to commission you to do another Iowa one for our sweet home! Great work gal!

    • It was easy, but I’d be happy to do one for you Laura! I actually had plans to get my etsy store open before today and listing these, but it didn’t happen. Hopefully I will have it up and running this week. If you don’t want to wait, you can send me a message on facebook or Pinterest. Just let me know the color you want (I have more than I care to admit) and the size you want. Unless, of course, you decide to do one yourself :)

  3. Rachel

    Amy Lynn- you’re making me want to get crafty! Way to make it look so easy and it’s amazing!

  4. So fun! I’m an Iowan, too! Where are you from?

    • I just saw on your blog that you’re in central Iowa. I’m not far from the other Squaw Creek in Eastern Iowa. Or maybe Squaw Creek just goes that far :) Loved your project too by the way!

  5. These are so cute! I absolutely ADORE state art. Great job making it your own :)

    • Thanks Jenn! I really never thought I would end up with state art in my house…now I want to do other things with it. I’m thinking of doing the places I’ve lived for my craft room. So excited!

  6. Kristen

    Holy cow. I’m totally stealing your idea. I love love love it. Amazing!

  7. Those are so cute! I love the color. Might have to try this someday!
    I did some art for the Pinterest challenge, too. You can check it out here if you get a chance: http://unsimpleliving.wordpress.com/2011/08/02/melted-crayon-art/
    Thanks for sharing yours!

    • Thanks for stopping by Suzi! I love your crayon art, I think I might try my own with some crayons I got a couple years ago at a back to school clearance :)

  8. Very cute! Love the idea!

  9. I love these! That color is amazing!

  10. Pingback: Pinterest Challenge – Driftwood Christmas Tree « the space between

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 135 other followers

