So fortunate!

Today I need to brag to you about how fortunate I feel. I’m an Iowan! As an Iowan I have the unique opportunity to help shape the way a presidential election goes. Saturday I was able to go to Ames and participate in the straw poll.

If you follow politics, you know that the straw poll is a republican event that happens in late summer the year before the Iowa caucus, so you can (correctly) deduce that I am a conservative.  Do not fear, I believe very strongly in what my candidate stands for but I wouldn’t dream of pushing those beliefs on other people. I also believe that one of the things that makes this country great is the fact that we don’t have to agree on everything!

Sunday I was exhausted and sunburned, but I treasure the memory of Saturday and the time I spent with my uncle watching a Randy Travis concert,

Eating state fair food, like a beef sundae. Have you ever had one of those? It’s roast beef with a scoop of mashed potatoes on top and then covered in gravy and topped with a cherry…tomato. It was really delish and looked something like this

Most of all I enjoyed making my voice heard.

I was thrilled to be able to talk to different people and see a couple different candidates. Here’s Rick Santorum arriving

Here’s Michele Bachmann going to speak at Hilton Coliseum

If you’re an Iowan, the caucus is coming in 5 short months. I encourage you to take part in shaping the way our country goes by voting in the caucus when it comes around. I wouldn’t dream of pushing my candidate of choice on you, so here are links for many of the different candidates who have their proverbial hat in the ring.

I hope that you’ll check them out and figure out who agrees most with your beliefs and views on the various issues. I know this has been a somewhat serious post and perhaps a little controversial, but I wanted to share. I’ll leave you with one last picture of my uncle and me in the tent after the big event. Such a great day!


If commenting, please remember that we’re all friends here. We don’t have to agree, but we do need to be nice.


Categories: Election 2012, It's Our Life | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “So fortunate!

  1. Angela

    I would like to add it was so kid friendly! Our kids had so much fun and they are asking when they get to go again! So happy we went and wonderful post Amy!

  2. Im jealous were that close to Randy Travis. I used to want to marry him. :) (young girl crushes)

    • I sent a picture to my SIL and said “I’m so close I could throw a paper airplane and hit him. Hmmm I might try that.”

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 136 other followers

