Show-off

My grandma’s a quilter and a little over a week ago she had some of her quilts on display at a quilt show so my uncle and I took a little trip to go see them. I had never been to a quilt show, so it was fun to just go and I really enjoyed seeing Grandma’s quilts on display. If you didn’t make it to the quilt show, I thought I would share with you a few of my favorites. These are some of my grandma’s quilts…cause you know they are my favorites. I have to warn you, if you are a quilter, you may know the name of these patterns like Grandma does, but I do not. Maybe Grandma will let us all know what they are

Grandma had a few others, but my pictures didn’t turn out that great. I will show you one more of hers in a little bit. First, here are some from the featured quilters

Two others that caught my eye. I love the colors in this one!

I had to take a picture of this quilt for my dear friend Kristen

Have I ever told you that I used to work in a chocolate shop? One day when the boss was away the mice ladies did play.

Does that look familiar? Maybe a little like this part of that quilt?

I also stopped at one of the vendor booths  when I was walking by and saw some fabric that was designed by my high school BFF Melissa. It’s part of her Wildwood collection and I’m so excited to use it. Maybe in our second floor hallway with some curtain lining fabric? The brown in it goes perfect with the mocha color on the walls. Melissa’s blog is always on my sidebar in the blogroll, but you can check it out here.

Lastly, the piece de la resitance from the quilt show. Grandma used thousands of little pieces of OPS (other people’s scraps) to make this quilt. The pieces represent the thousands of people dealing with Alzheimer’s. After the quilt show, she donated the quilt to the Alzheimer’s Association. Here she is with the quilt she made

Continuing with my I-can’t-expect-people-to-understand-if-I’m-not-willing-to-help-educate philosophy (see the infertility post here and the severe allergy and anaphylaxis post here) I wanted to share with you about Alzheimer’s. My grandpa passed away in 2000 after living with Alzheimer’s and Grandma cared for him full time. To learn more about Alzheimer’s please visit the Alzheimer’s Association website. There you can find out what it is and the ten warning signs to watch for.

I can’t wait to go to another quilt show since I had to leave this one early. Have you ever been to a quilt show? Did you love it? Would you love to go to one? Wanna go with me?

Categories: Meet and Greet, Projects, The Road to Understanding | Tags: | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Show-off

  1. I love your grandma’s quilts! Also, I know the gal that made the Lucy chocolate quilt. It really is fun! I can’t wait to see what you do with Wildwood :)

  2. Kristen

    Oh my goodness!! Love that Lucy quilt! They’re all gorgeous. And I didn’t realize you ACTUALLY worked in a choc shop! Clueless party of one here! The Wildwood collection is gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 133 other followers

