Simplify – My Creative Space

Rather than make a new year’s resolution this year, I made a goal. After all, with a new year’s resolution how many of us forget about it when the year no longer feels like new. With a goal, I have until the end of the year to complete it right? This champion procrastinator likes the sound of that! When I was interviewing possible goals I was having trouble deciding on just one and I’ve always been told to make a goal that you have control over. Losing weight? Sure, I can eat better, give up soda and exercise more, but what if I hit a plateau? That plateau can be very discouraging and when I’m not losing anymore I feel like I’m not accomplishing my goal and I’m more likely to give up on that goal.

I decided to make my 2012 goal encompassing and simple. The title of this post says it all. This year I’m going to simplify my life. I seriously have about 15 bullet points under my goal of simplifying. Most of them are not simple and they take quite a bit of work, but I’m looking toward the future. I want to rip up the carpet on our entire first floor and refinish the floors. You’ve seen the entry room floor and the living room and dining room need to have the same treatment. We have two cats in our house that pretty much run the place. We also pretty much have cat hair everywhere! Do you know what a magnet carpet is for cat hair? I would love to be able to sweep instead of vacuum (Princess Bella is terrified of vacuum cleaners) and not have to get out carpet cleaner when a glass of sweet tea spills.

Another thing at the top of my list is to simplify my creative space. If you’ve been through my tour from the beginning page, you’ve seen my creative space when we moved in. The ceiling fan came down, the walls got a good coat of paint and the eight foot table that Michael made me for our first anniversary (awesome!). It was so nice and clean even after I got a few things in there

Then somehow it became this

Question: Did that take your breath away? I worked in there some when I was getting ready for a Labor Day weekend garage sale but it’s still completely OUT. OF. CONTROL. If I had this room organized, my life would definitely be simpler. I would save time by not searching for things. I would save money by not buying things because I can’t find something. Still can’t believe I mustered the courage to show this to you, but I want it to be something to share with you throughout the year. This room will be organized (and my life simpler as a result) by the end of the year. My first order of business is to build some storage. Perhaps something like this plan from Ana White.

If you read Lovely Crafty Home, you may have seen her “Get Your Crap Together Party”. I’ll be joining with some other crafters as we organize our embarrassing spaces. So far, she’s had a few people join in and I’m glad I’m not alone. Whew! Check out some of these others

If you’d like to join me in my simplify challenge, I’d love to hear what you’re doing. Also if you have a blog, you can grab the simplify challenge button over on the sidebar! What are you doing to make things more simple for you and your family. Life’s too short for things to be complicated!

Categories: 2012 Simplify Challenge | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Simplify – My Creative Space

  1. Your craft room looks like mine! Haha.
    Just wanted to thank you for replying w/ pictures/links about my carsiding question on YHL a while ago. I just recently remembered it and saw that you responded – thanks! Those metal siding pictures are so cool!

    • I love the metal siding too. Thanks for stopping by and letting me know you got the links. I rarely check back on comments I make on other blogs…should probably check more often ;)

  2. Been there, have the same mess. I am glad your along for the ride. I can’t wait to see everyone’s results. I am getting pretty excited about mine.

  3. Looks like we all have our work cut out for us, but I know we can do it! Good luck and I can’t wait to see how you transform that room! :D

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 135 other followers

