The Chair Seat Thief

Saturday morning I got a text from my SIL (sister-in-law) Lindsee. She’s pretty good at flattery…she must know it will get her everywhere with me.

Dining Chair Recover22

She sent me a picture that looked something like this one that I took when I got to her house

Dining Chair Recover1

Good thing she sent me the picture. We didn’t need the foam, just the fabric

Dining Chair Recover23

*If you don’t have the JoAnn app on your smart phone, you are missing out! Back to chair cushions. I met Lindsee at Hancock Fabrics on Sunday and we scouted out their remnant table. We found some that we thought matched the paint in their kitchen perfect so we snagged it. BTW, we were right on the color!

Dining Chair Recover7

Six dollars a yard! We got 2 1/2 yards plus an extra fifteen inches they gave her at half price because it was the end. Total for the fabric was less than $18. I’m going to use the extra fifteen inches to make some placemats and probably napkin rings. I’m thinking of giving them to my brother for his birthday. He’ll be thrilled…maybe not. Back to chairs.

We got to Lindsee’s house and got to work. I started taking seats off chairs with some help from my niece Reygan. It was also lunch time and when Auntie Amy takes all the cushions off your dining room chairs, you have lunch on the floor.

Dining Chair Recover6

I’m not mean. I promise. To compensate I brought them cookies. Plus they got to help! Poor Adicyn just wanted to sit in a chair

Dining Chair Recover18

To get the existing chair pads off, I took a screwdriver and unscrewed them from the bottom

Dining Chair Recover2

Then we were left with this

Dining Chair Recover4

…and this

Dining Chair Recover5

I numbered all the cushions and the chairs so we would know which one went where. It might not seem necessary, but it turned out to be good. Nothing is perfect so I knew not all the holes were going to be lined up the same on all the chairs. We could have recovered them one at a time, but then we wouldn’t have a dramatic picture like this one

Dining Chair Recover14

Or this one

Dining Chair Recover13

See? Totally necessary.

Due to the fact that the fabric had stripes, we needed to line it up. My CDO (OCD, but the letters are in alphabetical order like they should be) wouldn’t allow it to be any other way. So I had Lindsee (and Reygan) measure the middle of the seat.

Dining Chair Recover8

She also got to measure a couple kids in the process

Dining Chair Recover9

So I cut around the seats allowing an extra 3-4 inches around each side just to be safe and started lining up

Dining Chair Recover16

Then stapling

Dining Chair Recover11

 Hunter and Adi wouldn’t let Rey play with them. She was pouting (what a cheese)

Dining Chair Recover12

Until I asked her to help me

Dining Chair Recover17

Stretching and stapling and stretching and stapling and folding corners until I was all the way around it

Dining Chair Recover19

When I would get one done, Lindsee would put it back on after Adi would find the chair that matched the seat

Dining Chair Recover20

We also had to take a picture of a bunch of law breakers. That’s right, no tags on these chairs

Dining Chair Recover15

Hunter pointed out that only I would go to jail since I removed all the tags and handed them to them.

But the chairs all got finished and they look fab!

Dining Chair Recover21

Who doesn’t love a before and after side by side?

Dining Chair Recover B&A

Total cost was $17 (I already had staples for the staple gun). I think that’s pretty good. Thank you Lindsee for letting me invade your house and do this with you. What’s next?!?!?

Categories: Projects, Tutorials | Tags: , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “The Chair Seat Thief

  1. Kimberly Mundt

    Amy you are ridiculously good when it comes to this stuff. I’m glad i have you as a connection. Lindsee i am proud!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 136 other followers

