Chillaxin’

A few years ago I decided to redo our bedroom. I wanted something relaxing…like a beach. Typical is not a word that can be used to define my decorating style and this was no different. Blue, green and white were not going to be the color palette for this room, but I didn’t know what would be until I found this painting by Jack Vettriano

Red, brown and yellow it is! Michael wasn’t up for painting the walls in the apartment we were in at the time, so it was up to me to accessorize the way to our little piece of the beach. Nothing says beach more to me than sunshine, but how to get sunshine into the bedroom. You know, inspiration can hit at any time. One of my favorite inspiration places is Pier 1! Anyone else? Well this time, the sunshine inspiration came from a napkin ring…no, that’s not a typo. A little bit of clipping and re-stringing to make them a little larger and I had a new candle holder!

Here it is all lit up

It took 3 napkin rings to make 2 candle holders and we ended up driving to another store to get more, but it was worth it! I LOVE LOVE LOVE how these look like little rays of sunshine.

When we were in our apartment, we had wide windowsills, so I lined them up on the one you saw when you walked into the bedroom with a couple other things

Our new bedroom doesn’t have these wide windowsills, so it doesn’t look like this now, but I think these little sunshines will soon be found in our bathroom along with this picture that Noreen took in Aruba.

What have you taken and made useful for something else? Any double-duty tips like on Rachael Ray?

Categories: Projects | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Chillaxin’

  1. Wow what a great idea!! Love the slatted look. Thanks for linking up at my party!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

