Happenings – part 2

On Saturday I told you that my Beau Beau was in the hospital. Saturday he was pretty happy to see his daddy

Sunday he looked like Beau again. He wanted to sit in the window and look outside

Even though he looks great here, unfortunately he is still in kidney failure and short of a kidney transplant, we’ll be saying goodbye to him soon. Yesterday we talked to doctors and took Bella and Bristol to see him and take some pictures of us as a family. We took two cameras with us just in case one of them failed…and wouldn’t you know it,neither of our cameras had the memory cards in them. Seriously? Fortunately we weren’t far from a Staples so I went for a drive to get a card for one of the cameras (which BTW was on sale). While I was gone Michael stayed in the visiting room with all three kids. Beau was sitting on a table, Bella on a bench and Bristol in the window. Evidently Beau wanted to be closer to his sister and this very sick kitty jumped from the table to the floor and then onto the bench to see Bella. Miss Bella can be quite snarky sometimes, but she just let Beau sit there.

Bristol decided that he needed to get in on the fun too and Mr. Never-sits-still jumped out of the window to sit with his brother and sister

Then we made the decision that was right for our family. Against the advice of the doctors, we decided to bring Beau home for a night. They sent us home with pain medication that he gets every eight hours. We didn’t want him climbing stairs or doing anything that could hurt him so I slept on the floor in the living room with him. Every time Beau got up to go to the bathroom or move around, I woke up. But evidently I did not wake up when Michael decided to snap this picture

Still can’t believe I’m putting that one out there on the whole entire internet. I know it’s one that I’m going to cherish forever.

We haven’t given up praying for our miracle but we’re truly happy to have him home with us for the now. The miracle – finding someone with an extra $15,000 who wants to give it to us for a kidney transplant. Anyone? Anyone at all? Even if we don’t get that miracle, we’re so grateful for the last three years we’ve had with Beau. He’s taught us how to fight, how to love, how to comfort and how to be patient. What a blessing he has been to our family and I’ll be the first to admit that I can’t believe a cat has taught me so much. Love you Beau Beau!

Categories: It's Our Life | Tags: | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Happenings – part 2

  1. If I were rich, or even well off I would be the first to donate. Really, I would. I know how hard it is to lose a friend so close, so soon. But even though it isn’t much… I have a poem that I found when grieving my dog a few years back and it did wonders for making me feel better over time. Hopefully it can do the same for you. I send my condolences and assure you that soon he will be going to a better place and that you made his time here the best it could be. (I don’t know where I found this or even what it’s called. But I don’t think any of that really matters in the end.)

    If it should be that I grow frail and weak,
    and pain should keep me from my sleep,
    then you must do what must be done.
    For this last battle can’t be won.

    You will be sad, I understand.
    Don’t let your grief then stay your hand.
    For this day, more than the rest,
    your love and friendship stand the test.

    We’ve had so many happy years.
    What is to come can hold no fears.
    You’d not want me to suffer, so
    when the time comes please let me go.

    Take me where my needs they’ll tend.
    Stay with me until the end.
    Hold me firm and speak to me
    until my eyes no longer see.

    I know in time you will see
    it is kindness that you did to me.
    Although, my tail its last has waved,
    from pain and suffering I’ve been saved.

    We’ve been so close these many years.
    Don’t let your heart hold any tears.
    Be happy that we’ve walked for miles;
    even if only for a little while.

    -Shannon Humami

    • Such a great poem! I found one not long after we lost Brady in May and I think I’m going to put it in my craft room with pictures of my two boys.

  2. Thank you for sharing these pictures with us. Beau and you sleeping together is so sweet.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

