Changing Seasons Project

It’s Wednesday and you know what that means. It’s $10 (or less) holiday decor day! If you missed the first two, you can find the pumpkin path lights here and the argyle wreath here. Remember this is $10 or less for absolutely everything you would need to do this project – no “I had this on hand”. So, without further ado, here is what you will need for this project…and a pen.

 

Normally I give you the breakdown at the end, but today I feel like switching things up so here it is

  • Cylinder vase – $1 from Dollar Tree
  • Duct tape – $1 at Menards (you could use any tape for these…in fact it might be easier)
  • Tea light candle – $1 for 12 at Dollar Tree (last time I was there they had the electronic ones too)
  • 12×12 piece of orange scrapbook paper – $.60 at Hobby Lobby
  • Tape measure – $1 at Dollar Tree
  • Scissors – $1 at Dollar Tree
  • Pen – $1.44 for two at Target…or free from your local bank or insurance agent but I think everyone should try out my favorite pen
  •     Total – $6.74

First you’ll need the tape measure to figure out how tall your vase is (mine is 7 1/4 inches tall) then cut the scrapbook paper to that size. I then wrapped the cardstock/paper around the vase to get the exact measurement around the vase. See where the ends meet? I used a pen to mark where to cut the paper so the ends would meet and not overlap

Then I used a paper cutter (or scissors if you don’t have a paper cutter) to cut that little piece off. Next I taped the two ends together, but I recommend not doing that. First you’ll want to draw your jack-o-lantern face and cut it out. Make sure to draw on the back/inside because if you’re like me, you’ll be re-drawing a few times. Draw it as close to the center as you can so the line where the two ends of the paper meet is at the back

Now after it’s cut out you’ll want to make you paper a cylinder to go around the vase. You could certainly tape or glue the paper to the vase, but I wanted to be able to easily remove the paper and still be able to save it for next year…if I want to. I also wanted the tape on the inside of the paper so it didn’t show on the outside. I’m sure there is probably a more efficient way to do this and please share if you have one, but here is how I went about this. I taped the paper to my kitchen counter

Then I lined up the two ends on the sticky side of the tape so it looked like this. I didn’t get them exactly lined up, but it is less obvious than a two inch line of duct tape

Then, if you forgot to draw and cut out the face before making the cylinder (like I did) take it back off and do that step. Once you have your pumpkin face on the vase, you might see a line of duct tape through your Jack’s face like this

To remedy that situation, I took the leftover scrapbook paper and cut it to the same height as my vase and slipped it between the vase and the paper cylinder to cover the duct tape. Ahhh much better

Then light the candle and watch it glow!

You could also fill it with flowers or candy. I love this little project. He’s so cute! If you make one (or more) I want to see pictures! You can post them on This DIY Life’s facebook page! I also want to see your fall and holiday decorations. It’s my favorite time of the year!!!

 

Categories: Projects | Tags: , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Changing Seasons Project

  1. Ooohh, I am definitely going to do this one with the kids. Maybe we’ll run to the Dollar Tree tomorrow. This would equally be as awesome for Christmas or Thanksgiving too and you would already have most of the materials except for the scrapbook paper. Awesome idea Amy!

    • I was thinking of the different seasons too. I was going to cut one with trees using my Cricut, but the cost of the Cricut would have put me waaaay over the $10 budget 😉 I would love to see what the boys do!

  2. Kristen

    Love!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

