Ghastly Ghosts

 

With Halloween less than a week away, some of you may be looking for just a little more Halloween decor to add and I’ve got another easy one for you. So, here is the final installment of the under $10 Halloween decor (see the others here). Don’t worry, I’ll be back next Wednesday with something for fall (and still under $10). I found this idea on Pinterest over a month ago and thought they were so cute and couldn’t wait for them to invade our house. I looked all over town for the main thing needed for this project and couldn’t find them for the price I wanted to spend. Then yesterday, I had to go to Wal-Mart (it was a scary day) for something and decided to check out their wedding bell selection and found these 11 inch ones for $3 for the two of them and knew this was the perfect project for a Wednesday

After your bell looks like a bell instead of a flat half bell, you’ll need eyes and a mouth for your ghost. I got some glittery cardstock at JoAnn’s for $.20 on sale, but normally this would cost you a whole 69 cents.I just free hand cut these – can you tell? Yeah, I thought you would be able to, but this is the only place anyone will be able to see how wonky my ovals are so I just went with it.

If I can take the eyes and mouths back off the ghosts I can fold them back up and take up very little room in my Rubbermaid tote of Halloween decor. To make sure I can do that, I taped my eyes and mouths to my ghosts so I can pack these little dolls away for use next year.

All these needed now was something to make them float a little more. Enter cheescloth

I cut a big square of cheesecloth to hang on top of the ghost. To get them to stay put I cut a little bitty hole in the middle of the square and pulled the hanging string through the hole of cheesecloth and they are ready to hang

Here’s the breakdown of what you’ll need to make your own ghastly ghosts

  • Tissue bells – $3 for two at Wal-mart
  • Black cardstock or paper – $.69 from JoAnn
  • Cello tape – $1 at Dollar Tree
  • Scissors – $1 at Dollar Tree
  • Cheesecloth – $3 at Wal-Mart
  •     Total – $8.69 for two of these little Caspers – and if you want to make more, you’ll just need to get more bells

We put a black light outside on our porch and hung two little ghosts where they could glow by the black light. It’s pretty windy here so they were blowing all over and it wasn’t easy to get a good picture, but I had to share the glowing cuteness anyway

I hope you’ve enjoyed the Halloween decor for under $10. Ready for the start of fall next week? Have you found anything on Pinterest that you want to see if I can do for less than $10? Leave a link to a project in the comments and I’ll see what I can do! Give me a challenge!

 

 

Categories: Projects | Tags: , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Ghastly Ghosts

  1. Kristen

    Oh my goodness! I love those little ghosts!! I so slacked on Halloween crafts & decor this year. Failure party of one. 😦

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

