Cold, Fluffy and White

I’ve lived in Iowa almost my entire life. Except for a few years when I thought I needed to travel the world and meet some fascinating people, I’ve been here. Every year as winter gives way to spring we shed our gloves, hats, scarves and winter coats and pack them away dreaming of warmer days. Every year, I seem to lose my gloves, hat, scarf and winter coat and as fall turns into winter I end up freezing my tail off for the first 2-3 weeks of winter in a hoodie and sweatpants. Judging by this forecast, I need to go do some coat hunting

Last night our temperature got down to 18 andI know that comparatively speaking 18 isn’t cold. Nothing like the weather that Ana and her family have been building the Momplex in. Sidenote: If you’re not following Ana White, you should be – I’m totally addicted to watching the progress on the house that her and her husband are building for their mamas in Alaska. Seriously, addicted. I even had a dream one night that I flew to Alaska and helped them build…that might be a little creepy.

Our second dusting of snow made it’s appearance yesterday. Literally it was a dusting, but it put me in the mood to make a little something wintery. With  a wooden wreath form I picked up for $2 at Michaels

and a package of coffee filters

and my trusty glue gun and I went to work. I crunched up a coffee filter to make a “flower”

Then, just for kicks I flipped the coffee filters over and crunched up the coffee filter the other way

By turning the coffee filters inside out first, the flowers were fuller, so that’s what I did. I made a pile of flowers

Then I started gluing. First I’ll show you what I did and then I’ll tell you what I would do if I had to do it over again. Deal? So, here’s how I started gluing. Notice how I made a little flat spot on my badminton birdies? Two lines of glue and then the flat bottoms found their permanent home around the outside of the wreath

Then around the inside circle of the wreath and when I flipped it over it looked a little something like this.

Then I added two rows of flowery birdies to this side of the wreath. Here’s the look after taking 40 of these guys and making them pretty

Then I decided to try a new pattern with my next 40. I filled in the entire inner circle of the wreath (glued to the back of the wreath form) then started adding my two rows on the front of the wreath form. Here’s the look after another 40 (80 total)

After 120

Then I finished off the package of filters with the last 40. I wasn’t so bored doing this that I was counting the filters as I crumpled them. The filters were just already separated into 4 sections in the package of 160. This is what the back looked like as I was putting the final outside layer on

And all finished just chillin’ in the dining room

It’s so white and fluffy! So there you have how I did it. If I had it to do over again, I would have glued them all the way I did second half of the wreath – inner circle, two rows on the front, outer circle. Don’t worry about squishing the flowers on the front while gluing the outer circle. I had no problem with it at all. Also, I would have painted the wreath form the color of the wreath. Since I don’t plan on painting this whole wreath, I would have painted the form white. Love a good price breakdown?

  • 12″ wooden wreath form – $2 at Michaels
  • 160 coffee filters – $2 at Dollar General
  • low temp hot glue gun – $4 at Michaels
  • mini glue sticks – $2
  •     Total – $10 if you have to buy it all

I know it’s not Wednesday, but how’s that for holiday decor under $10? I love it and it’s going to look great on our mantle…or above the mantle. I haven’t decided yet for sure.

 

 

 

 

 

Categories: Projects | Tags: , , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Cold, Fluffy and White

  1. So pretty! I love this idea! Wished you live closer so we could have a craft day together. Although, you’d have a hard time getting me out of the house if it was 28 degrees…not a cold weather girl. I start wearing gloves and hats when it gets below 60! 🙂 Miss you!

    • Oooo, a craft day with Rebekah would be so fun! Just like college 🙂 Maybe next time we’re out east, we can get together!

      • Yes please!!!

        PS I’m in Richmond VA now … 1.5 hours south of the Woodbridge IKEA, in case you need a reference point. 😉

  2. This so cool! And cheap! Love it!

  3. I love this! I’m thinking about making one for my bedroom…but I don’t think I can bear to take it down after the holiday’s. It doesn’t really scream Christmas, does it? Do you think it would hold up long term?

    Awesome post. Glad I clicked over from Young House Love.

    • I really don’t think that it’s strictly Christmas at all. I have every intention of keeping mine up all winter long. I’m going to spray mine with a clear sealer and hang it outside. I’ll come back here and let you know if I have any problems with it 🙂 Thanks for stopping by…I hope you’ll come back sometime!

  4. Wow!! This is so cool and cheap! I’ve seen a lot of felt wreaths done this way but I love that you used coffee filters!

    • Thanks Ashley! I’m a frugal gal so I don’t spend a lot on anything. Had I chose to cut the circle out of cardboard I would have only had to buy the coffee filters making this the cheapest wreath EVER 🙂 I thought it would be kinda flimsy, but it’s surprisingly not at all.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

