Fab Design for a Fab Fam

I’ve drug it out long enough. First with a “don’t forget to watch” post on Friday then with a “watch the house go up” post yesterday. Maybe you’ve already seen the most recent episodes of Extreme Makeover Home Edition.

screenshot

If you haven’t seen it, you can check out part one and part two. Some of these are blurry screen shots and some are linked from the ABC website. So without further ado, here we go! First, the outside of the house

From ABC.com

See that metal silo thing in the middle? That was my favorite room in the house – the glamor camping room or as the designer called it, the glamping room. I told one of the production managers that I loved the color of the bed and the bookcases and was told “don’t encourage her”. Still totally love it all though

From ABC.com

From ABC.com

I was pulled into this room to do some cleaning up and ended up being in there for a couple hours helping to put up the 14 feet tall tent. There were birch trees painted on the wall and this tree was in the corner…you can also see how tall the tent was

Screenshot

I got to put together the beds in the oldest boys’ rooms

From ABC.com

From ABC.com

I completely loved this thing they did with hubcaps and rope lights on the wall of one of the rooms. I’m thinking I need to try something like this on the back wall of the garage. Time to start scouring places for hubcaps

Screenshot

Perhaps my biggest feat was the Y. No, not the YMCA, but a mossy Y. When I walked in the front door, there was an entire wall of corrugated metal. They had the letters to spell out Gibbs Family but for some reason the letter Y went missing. When they asked for someone who liked to do creative decorating projects you know I volunteered. Then they spent more time looking for the Y and about 30 minutes before the scheduled end of my shift I started in on creating a letter Y that would go with the others. It wasn’t as easy as I thought it would be. Ya see, I can’t draw. When I look at it, I see the flaws and it makes me want to create another one and mail it to them to change it. Anyway, this is where I was on tv…in that Y

screenshot

screenshot

screenshot

By the way, I’ve been trying to talk hubs into a wall of corrugated metal for well over a year now for the wall going down to the basement/future man cave. Maybe now he’ll be on board for it.

That’s pretty much where all my time was spent but you know that I walked through the whole house and picked out some of my fave things and since you stopped by to read my musings, I’m going to share those fave things with you. I luh-uh-uh-uh-uhved the kitchen (that would be the word loved turned into a five syllable word)

From ABC.com

Can I tell you how much I want all of those appliances? Seafoam green is great in this kitchen, but doesn’t go in ours. But maybe cobalt blue or lime green or something. Anyway, like I said I luh-uh-uh-uhved the kitchen.

from ABC.com

From ABC.com

Since Audrey is partially blind, she isn’t able to drive and depends on other people to take her places…including work to support her family of seven. Now she has a massage studio in her house with its own private entrance for clients to come and go. They also pimped her ride decked out the studio so she can run her business even being partially blind. Let me tell you that when I walked into that room, it was so relaxing and calming with construction going on all around that I can only imagine what it would be like getting a massage in there

From ABC.com

And there’s the living room too

From ABC.com

Remember the grandfather clock that Kayla was working on? It’s over there in the corner on the wall o’ green…working

From ABC.com

I feel so fortunate that I was able to help give the Gibbs family a new home and a new beginning.

From ABC.com

Categories: It's Our Life | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

