Pom Poms and Oranges

When Katie Bower posted these cute little towels, I may have gasped and then made a bee line for the fabric store to get some cute pom poms.

Towels by Katie at BowerPowerBlog.com

I brought home three different colors: one to make towels for my kitchen, one to make towels for my friend Kristen and one that I have no idea what I’m going to do with but thought it would be good. I also was at TJ Maxx strolling the home department (since the nearest Home Goods is 4 hours away) and found some microfiber towels. Katie used flour sack towels, but since I’m a cheapskate frugal gal I was pretty happy to find a deal on some microfibers (also seen here sitting on my craft table). Then it was just some quality time in my creative space doing something other than reorganizing it. For the record, I didn’t do any measuring, I just started pinning and sewing. I folded over the edge of the trim so there was a pom right on the edge of the towel. You might notice that I used two different colors of thread – orange and white.

I wanted to keep an eye on the pom pom trim as I was sewing, so I had the orange thread as my top thread and the bottom thread was white to match the towel. Gotta say it worked out perfectly! Most of the time it’s really difficult to see the white thread on the front of the towel…you know except for the places where I didn’t sew a straight line.

I thought they were so adorable that I decided that my orange loving friend needed some. I mean really, the girl loves orange like I love green. Her Kitchen Aid mixer is even orange

And since her birthday was coming up it was the prefect reason to send them to her. Target also had some orange kitchen stuff and I’m all about theme gifts so I snatched up three of those and tied them with a piece of burlap and put it in a little gift bag that I had on hand and added some orange tissue paper and it was beautiful

And because I’m a good friend (or so I like to think) I added three more things in the bag. Anybody else use (orange) Tide Stain Release?

I swear by this stuff. I goes in just about every single load of laundry I do. Love a good (and pretty disgusting) comparison? One of these was washed with and one was washed without.

No I wasn’t paid by Tide to say that, but if there is a Tide exec reading this, I’d love samples and coupons…just sayin’. I kind of start to freak out when I have less than 10 of these in my laundry drawer. There was no way I was going to send my dear dear friend white towels for her kitchen and not give her some of this stuff.

Let’s get back on track with the towels though. I was also making something else for Kristen’s son and had some felt staches chillin’ my dining room table (because I can’t use my creative space table for anything but embarrassing pictures) and one of them ended up sitting on a towel.

FYI, I think this is so cute and I’m totally going to try my hand at embroidery so I can have a mustache towel. Or maybe a goatee towel so it matches the hubs.

Did you see them on Katie’s blog and love them? BTW, she says they wear well so I’m not worried about them falling apart. So how do you feel about the towels? Do you have strong feelings about mustaches? Or goatees?

Categories: Projects | Tags: , , | 13 Comments

Post navigation

13 thoughts on “Pom Poms and Oranges

  1. Kristen

    Favorite blog post yet. 🙂

  2. Stephany

    I have an orange kitchenaide on my wish list!! I already have orange casserole dishes and spatulas etc… and plain orange towels — might have to rethink that! I heartily applaud your dedication to an orange loving friend!!! 🙂

    And the towels look awesome.

    • I was at Younkers yesterday and they had orange Rachael Ray dishes. I know Younkers is more of a local store, but I’m sure other places have them too. But I thought of your comment when I saw them!

  3. This is so cute! I think I may need to gasp and go get some pom-poms too! Thanks for sharing/posting this!

    Jennifer @ http://www.mefancy.blogspot.com

  4. I love that towel with the mustache it’s the cutest thing I’ve ever seen. I might need to run to the craft store right now and then get my craft on.

  5. So cute! I love the mustache 🙂

  6. Oh I love these. I love pompoms!

    I’d love for you to share these at our linky party.
    ~Jenn

    http://housewivesofriverton.blogspot.com/2012/02/riverton-houseswives-round-up-5.html

  7. I just linked up! Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  8. Mazie Blackmer

    There are so many kitchen aids that we can choose from. i always prefer to use stainless steel kitchen aids. *

    Our blog site
    http://www.prettygoddess.com

  9. Pingback: Riverton Housewives Round Up # 6 and -

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

