An Attempt at Artsy

If you spend much time on Pinterest or if you visit many places in blogland, chances are that you have seen subway art. Last weekend, I decided I was going to try my hand at creating subway art. I’ve never been very artsy fartsy. My creativity is pretty much using other people’s art and making something fab. Design fabric? No. Thank. You. I’ll leave that to one of my most wonderful friends in high school. Use the fabric to make a pillow or a curtain or put it in a frame to hang on the wall? That’s more my speed. That I can do. Subway art seemed like something I could do though. I’m all about colors and fonts (hubs doesn’t understand how I could need 532 fonts on my computer, but I do) and that’s pretty much what this is right? I started with Valentine’s Day. I picked out some phrases that are about the heart day and used a digital scrapbooking program to lay them all and pick out my colors. Here’s what I ended up with

I uploaded it and had it printed in an 8×10. Then I grabbed a frame that can only be described with two words 1 – cheap 2- o. I got both at Wal-Mart, which may surprise you considering how much it scares me. But glossy prints scare me too and Wal-Mart is the only place I know of that does one hour prints in matte. It was in need of a paint job, so I set up a paint booth. While our winter has been unusually warm overall, it was still too cold to paint outside with my usual paint setup. So I took on the IF – Improvisation and Flexibility. I found a big box from a Pampered Chef order and set it on the washing machine in the laundry room/mudroom and put the frame in it

A little quality time with some primer and I was on my way to a pretty frame. Remember thin coats so it doesn’t run. Spray. Wait. Spray. Wait. Flip.

Spray. Wait. Spray. Wait

All along, this frame was going to be white so I could use it for other holidays too. But as I was in the laundry room/mudroom/paint storage space priming, this red paint was calling to me

And because I’m just crazy enough that I can hear inanimate objects speak to me, I listened

So glad I did!

Sure I’ll have to buy another frame for St. Patty’s day, but it’s okay, I have green paint for that. Right now, it’s sitting on the dresser turned sideboard.

Since Valentine’s Day is all about love, I want you to know how much I love you guys! So, just in case you like this and want one for yourself, I’ve uploaded it to Picasa so you can download and print your very own! Here’s how it works: Click on this link to take you to the picture. Once there, on the left hand side towards the top there will be a link to download. Click on that and you can pick your poison – open it or save it. Easy schmeasy lemon squeezy right?

How about a quick price breakdown?

  • Frame – $2 at Wal-Mart
  • 8×10 print – $2.50 for one hour (I’m impatient) at Wal-Mart
  • White Primer – $3 at Menards
  • Colonial Red Paint – $3 at Menards
  • Subway art download – 3 hours of my life but free for you here
  •    Total – $10.50

That’s not bad right? You know I’ll be reusing that frame for Memorial day and Independence Day. Hmmm, I need other holidays to use this for. Maybe I’m getting ahead of myself. I hope you all enjoy the download! Love you guys!

Categories: Projects | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

