A Magnetic Personality

A couple weeks ago I was at Hobby Lobby killing time…and you know how good Hobby Lobby is for killing time…or is that just me? Anyway, I was walking around looking for something and nothing. Nothing for me (but you know I got something) and something  ideas for my friend Kristen. Ya see, little-miss-party-hearty can pull off a theme party like no one else I’ve ever seen. Hopefully she’ll get her blog up and running before too long (hint, hint) and you can see some of the awesomeness that is a Kristen planned party. She is participating in a great challenge where she is creating a dessert table for a party on a budget. The challenge is through Spaceships & Laser Beams and her theme is vintage airplanes. I so can’t wait to see what she comes up with because of the aforementioned awesomeness of a Kristen planned party. I promise to link up to it when her design goes out for the world to see.

While I was browsing and texting and taking pictures of all kinds of things something caught my eye. You know I love a good damask and so when I saw some damask bottle caps I did a double take and they found their way into my cart. Sure they were from the scrapbook section, but these were somehow going to work their way into my home decor. I also picked up some super glue and super strong magnets.

In case you were wondering, I opened the package of magnets before I took pictures because I was pretty jazzed about just getting these on the fridge. That’s why it looks like the package has been opened…because it had been. Before you start gluing the magnet, stick the magnet to the bottle cap to make sure that you’re not trying to go against the magnetic grain. Put a little bit o’ super glue on the side that naturally sticks to the bottle cap and then stick it to the bottle cap

After the glue dries, find a great picture for these to adorn on your fridge or maybe on a cookie sheet turned magnetic memo board like this one I found on Pinterest. So pretty!

They are almost as wonderful as this picture of my Bella in a food coma (she was about 6 months old in that picture – she turns 5 in June…where does time go?)

Supplies:

  • Snazzy damask bottle caps – $1.79 at Hobby Lobby ($2.99 regular price with a 40% off coupon) Sidenote: DYK that Hobby Lobby will use a coupon off your smartphone? So if you forget your printed one at home, you can pull it up on your phone and they will use it.
  • Super strong magnets – $1.79 at Hancock Fabrics ($2.99 regular price with a 40% off coupon) Sidenote: They will not use a coupon off your smartphone. I love their stuff, so I’m hoping they get with the program soon
  • Super glue – $3.14 at Target. You can get super glue at Dollar Tree too, but I’m afraid to go there now since I’m already using my backup phone (see more on that story here).
  •     Total –  $6.72

How great are they? I love them! I think the longest part of the whole project was taking the pictures. I think they would be cute stuffed in a housewarming gift basket or a bridal shower kitchen gift. A little extra magnetic personality. Whatcha think?

Categories: Projects | Tags: , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “A Magnetic Personality

  1. Ash

    Those are cute!!!

  2. I love magnets, damask and HOBBY LOBBY!!! You did good!! Those are really cute!!
    Visiting from “Show Me What You Got” Linky Party!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

