Ring Around the Kitty

On Wednesday we got to celebrate Bristol’s first birthday! We had a tough time figuring out what to get him for his birthday because well, him and Bella are spoiled and if we get many more cat toys or treats we’re going to end up on an episode of Hoarders. We adopted Bristol last August and in September I was making a wreath that was going to be for the front door to Halloween. Bristol decided that instead, he wanted it. He really had us pegged from the beginning. They aren’t allowed on counters or the table, but they can pretty much do anything else they want to…including claiming the Halloween wreath

He loves to pick up his toys and put them under the wreath/bed/hiding spot and take a running start at them flipping it over. He loves sharpening his claws in the tulle or ripping it apart with his teeth. He also loves to curl up and sleep in it. But after all that playing, the wreath was looking a worse for wear. Also my Bubby is growing up, so as much as he tried he didn’t really fit in the Halloween wreath anymore

He seriously sleeps in this thing every single night while we’re sitting in the living room watching tv. I’m sure you can figure out what Bristol got for his birthday. In case you want to make one for front door…or for your cat, it’s super easy and inexpensive. I used the same foam insulation for this wreath as I did for the Halloween argyle one I made. It looks like this before it has tulle tied to it (this is Bristol helping me make that first one)

I’ve read a lot of people who have problems with wreath forms made like this. I’ve made quite a few of them and had some work and some not work. I’ve had consistently good results (no buckling or bending) when I do one thing. On this foam pipe insulation there is a cut and if I make sure that is on the outside of the ring and not the inside, it works fabulously! It’s also easy to add in extra pieces if I need to make a bigger wreath like I did for my one year old boy. All of our cats have seemed to have favorite colors. Yes, I realize this makes me appear a little crazy, but I’m okay with that. Beau’s was read, Bella’s is yellow, Brady’s was blue and Bristol’s is orange. So I picked up two yards of a peachy and two yards of bright orange tulle netting. I cut pieces to about 12 inches by 3 inches and tied them around the 3/4″ foam insulation and one episode of Revenge later Bristol had his wreath.

He settled right into it! I was even able to get a video of him playing with it and a balled up piece of paper.

He makes me laugh every day!

Categories: It's Our Life, Projects | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

