Traditionally Non-Traditional Christmas

I love a good style quiz and when you combine that with Nate Berkus, it’s bound to be just about perfect right? So when I found Nate’s Holiday Design Personality Quiz I couldn’t click “Start Quiz” fast enough! It’s only five questions, so it doesn’t take long and the questions are super easy. I did have a little trouble with the first question…5AM seems really late to get to the stores

I love me some chocolate chip cookies

Apparently, I’m Nostalgic/Traditional

Nailed it! I do love my Grandma’s ornaments and the ceramic house she started painting for me before she got sick. I can’t decide if I want to finish it or if I want to leave it the way it is. It’s been the way it is for almost 15 years…maybe someday I’ll decide for sure. Holiday traditions? Gotta have a real Christmas tree and it has to be tall because that’s how it’s supposed to be.

You might remember a few weeks ago I was having trouble deciding on my colors for Christmas this year. I was out shopping one day and decided I wasn’t going to buy bows for Christmas gifts this year…I was going to make them and they weren’t going to be regular bows that get smashed either. Little yarn pom poms! Hallmark had the most perfect wrapping paper to go with my idea too. Then it just spiraled after that. It’s all s’mores and hot chocolate at our house for Christmas this year! I started wrapping the gifts and knew it was time to start in on the pom poms. The way I made these is definitely not the only way to make them, but it works for me. I wasn’t going to buy a set of pom pom makers when I had a perfectly good scrap of poster board sitting around (cardboard or cardstock or a leftover old box in the recycling bin would work well too). I cut two pieces that were about an inch wide and 2 1/2 inches long. This means my poms will be about 2 inches wide. If you want poms that are 1 inch wide, cut your poster board at 1/2 inch wide. I bent the ends about 3/8″ to help keep the yarn from sliding off the end.

Next I cut a longer piece of yarn (about 6-8 inches) and sandwiched it between the two pieces of poster board that I put back to back. I put the piece of yarn mostly to one side. This will make wrapping the yarn around easier. I wrapped the yarn around the two pieces until it is almost even with the bent up ends of the poster board.

After it’s all wrapped, I pull the yarn in the middle so it’s even on both sides and tie it in a bow around the yarn on one side- trust me, the bow part is important

Then, I put scissors between the poster board pieces

and cut it on the opposite side of where I tied my bow. Hold onto it so it doesn’t all come apart.

and lay it down

Then I untied the bow and tied a knot around my little stack of yarn.

As you pull it tight the yarn will poof out and start to look like a pom. You might have to trim them a little bit to make them even, but in one episode of Revenge, you’ll have a bunch of little poms. I picked the colors to match my wrapping paper – cream, brown, green, red and aqua.

I just couldn’t wait to get these on a couple of the gifts I’ve wrapped. I also used yarn for the ribbon and just wrapped it around the box a few times.

I can’t wait to get them under the Christmas tree that’s getting decorated today. There’s just something about them that screams traditional, but they aren’t your traditional Christmas bows. If you take Nate’s holiday design personality quiz, let me know what your style is. I’m just curious!

 

 

 

 

Categories: It's Our Life, Projects | Tags: , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Traditionally Non-Traditional Christmas

  1. You want to come wrap my presents too? 😉 Such a cute idea.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

