Party like a rockstar!

If you’re going to be reading my blog, I feel like there is someone else you should know. Well, quite a few someones, but something happened yesterday and I think you need to meet my friend Ashley now. Ashley and I have an obsession…home design and decorating…and that has a lot to do with Ikea. We also have a Sherwin-Williams obsession, but that’s another story for another time.

My mom, sister-in-law, niece and I are planning a weekend trip to Ikea in April so I’ve been online shopping at Ikea making a list for about a month now (Michael has not seen the list yet). My lunch routine for work consists of checking blogs and then shopping, it’s specific and patterned. First check in with Ana, ’cause she’s a genius. Then see what John & Sherry have to say for the day because they are fab. Next it’s over to visit my friend Andrea and her friend Laura to see what’s happening. Lastly, it’s off to Ikea!!!! Does anyone else hear a choir of angels sing at the mere mention of the word Ikea…there it was again!

Our house has a three seasons porch and a huge deck that I really want to be a fun gathering place during the spring, summer and fall. We’ve started building our Sectional-a-la-Ana for the porch and the Chairs-a-la-Ana for the deck. Then I was at Pier 1 a couple weeks ago and found this:

Who doesn’t need giant flip flops right? Michael knows nothing of these yet by the way. I was going to just come home with them one day and see what he said…I’m not much for keeping secrets when something makes me happy and giddy so I guess he finds out on the blog…sorry dear. Not a clue where I would put them though, but I heart them!!!

I promise this story is getting back to Ashley…on Monday during a typical lunch hour, I was Ikea (Hallelujah, hallelujah) shopping and found this light for the three seasons porch:

So fab isn’t it? I sent a picture of it to Ashley and our friend Noreen and simply said “I want”. A little poly on the paper pieces and I think it would work outside. I even thought about painting it red or orange to go with the flip flops. Yesterday I got back to my desk from a meeting and waiting for me was an IM from Ashley: “You are going to DIE WHEN YOU READ YHL!!! I’m not kidding, prepare to fall over.” Good thing it was my lunch hour because when Ashley says something like that you listen! Sorry Ana, but after that, I checked you after Young House Love. I was speechless and for those who know me, that’s quite a feat…it has maybe happened 2 times in the last 10 years…the other time was when Michael proposed after just 2 months of dating. John and Sherry have this light in their bedroom now!!! I should also explain that to Ashley and me, Ana and John & Sherry are celebs…I told you we had a home design and DIY obsession. This quickly became the highlight of our day. Not just the light, but I commented on the post and they replied (here’s the post and scroll down to see my comment). Oh…my…goodness…they know we exist. Yes I do realize how that could be kinda stalker sounding, but let me reason with you just for a moment. When you think decorating celebrities you think of Nate Berkus, don’t you? Well, John and Sherry were on Nate…John and Sherry know Ashley and I (yes, I realize the word “know” is being used very loosely in that sentence, but I’m okay with it)…so we are one degree away from Nate! In the words of Ashley “OMG! OMG! OMG! Did you show Noreen? Does she want our autographs now?” Noreen didn’t, by the way, she thinks Ashley and I are borderline crazy….she might be right. But now Ashley and I feel like we could party like a rockstar!

In the end, it’s all a part of This DIY Life. (Look at me coming up with a catch phrase like “That’s how I roll“)

Categories: Meet and Greet | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Party like a rockstar!

  1. Kristen

    I love this post. I love that you’re planning out your Ikea trip. That place is fabulous. Those lights are just as delicious in person. I saw them in this local children’s upscale consignment store: http://babiologyonline.com/consignment.html

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.