Chalk it Up to Awesome

A couple months ago I was chat chitting with Kristen and Ashley and asked their opinion on a painting project that I wanted to do. Well, a couple weeks ago I completed it. Michael had no idea what I was doing, but knew that it involved spray paint and plastic and our kitchen. I put up all the plastic making my own little paint booth.

Then it was time to start painting (excuse the terrible picture – I took 5 or 6 and not a one was in focus)

Then it was nice thin(?) coats over the whole surface. It looked really splotchy at first

I was nervous, but I kept going and I’m so glad I did. I let the paint dry for a day (like it said on the can) then I took a piece of chalk and colored all over the thing (like it said to on the can)

Then wiped all the chalk off (like it said on the can)

Yikes, I really need to paint the door in the kitchen. But then it was ready to be written on!! Michael looked at this and said “Are you talking to me or the chalkboard?” Honestly, it’s both.

Did you notice that the top was a little bit different color? I had plans for a piece of art up there so I wanted it to be solid black. It’s all the same paint, but you can really see the difference between the before prep and after prep.

One day when I was perusing Pinterest (like I do most days) and fell in love with a printable that I found on there. She actually had three of them, but you can probably guess which one I printed by looking at the insides of my cabinets

click on the image to get these great printables that Lisa created

 

I found this frame at a local store for just $4!

I love big thick chunky frames so I was pretty jazzed to find this one. The color was all wrong, so it got a coat of white paint…actually it got about 27 1/2 coats of white paint. I primed it then painted it. The only white paint I had on hand was some cheap-o stuff that we got for 99 cents at Menards. I love the Rust-oleum Painter’s Touch (like I used on the chair swing and the Valentine’s Day frame) and that’s usually what I get. Next time I won’t even bother with the 99 cent stuff even if I do have it. It seriously took me 3 or 4 days to get this little bitty frame primed and painted. Once it was painted and dried I put my artwork in and ripped the easel stand off the back so it would stay flat on the cabinet

Then hung it up. I tried command strips and I’m not sure if it was because of the weight of the frame or the texture of the chalkboard paint, but it didn’t stay up. I recommend a nail. I totally love how this looks.

You’ll notice that I didn’t have my plastic paint booth fully covering my wall. I need to get some latte paint to touch that up. I’m not sure what else we will write up there. Our annual family dinner is this Saturday, maybe I’ll write the menu up there so everyone knows what we’re having…and I’ll know what I’m supposed to be cooking for 17 of my favorite people.

Anyone else have chalkboards in random places in the homes? How about that printable from Over the Big Moon? Do you love them? Are you going to print one?

 

 

Categories: Projects, Tutorials | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

